Skip to content
September 8, 2013 / Heather

Sarcasm and the Internet

Edit: This was supposed to be published over a week ago. WordPress, you failed me.

 

Recently I left a comment on a post through the Geek Guy Knitting blog done by Errol (Twitter: @Elumir) and my comment got me wondering if people would know I wasn’t being sarcastic.

The post was about a guest post he wrote that involved tools. In the post Errol talked about a flooded toilet, putting up book shelves, and other things. In my comment I mentioned how he’s at least willing to learn and that alone deserved applause, then I proceeded to put *clapclapclapclapclap…*. Many people might think I was being sarcastic but I was not.

Truly, I’ve met people who don’t know how to use tools. At all. As someone who grew up helping her father with projects in the garage (and in the house when I could) it floors me at times that some people don’t know how to use everyday tools. Errol’s post reminded me that not everyone knows tools and that reminded me that not everyone needs tools or has the time to learn to work with them.

All-in-all, I began wondering what people think about sarcasm on the internet and how often something sincere might be mistaken for sarcasm and vice-versa.

By the way, if you don’t know Errol, you should. He’s an awesome person. His blog, Twitter, the band he’s in (Debs & Errol), and just all the other things he’s even mentioned in (I MUST tell you of NaNoWriMo the MUSICAL andNaNoToons! You need to see and read these. Do it. Now. I can wait. My post will be here. Go. Find these things. Totoro commands you! Sadly, I have no Totoro pictures. I need to remedy that.) he’s everywhere and awesome. You should also check out Manda Whitney’s blog Thoughts from the Test Chamber. She features things about Errol and all sorts of awesome stuff!

What are your thoughts on how the internet has affected sarcasm?

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

