Skip to content
November 21, 2013 / Heather

Finished

NaNo Screenshot

Screenshot of my computer.

There you have it. I finished NaNoWriMo. Early. For the most part, I’m happy with my novel. I still want to go through and edit my entire beginning because I hated it at first, but I forgot all about that by the time I hit the ending.

NaNo Graph

Stats from my novel. Click image for link to NaNoWriMo page with it.

As the caption for this picture states, these are the stats from my daily goals. I’m rather proud of the fact I didn’t fall behind once. I might have been behind where I wanted to be, but I never fell below the on-par goal. Yes, there were days where I wrote over 6000 words.

Some days were harder to write than others, and some characters harder to write than others, but in the end, I’m happy with it.

For those who have questions as to why I do NaNoWriMo or anything writing related feel free to ask. 🙂 I’m always up for a chat on writing.

I know people who are behind right now and people who aren’t writing to the count, but just writing to write, and even people who *gasp* don’t write at all.

To those wanting to do NaNoWriMo, I say: GO FOR IT! It’s insane, fun, and all-around awesome, especially if you find other people who are involved. Personally, I love the NaNoWriMo chat on deviantART, but I was also able to get a small Skype group with some of my local WriMos and it’s been fun.

To those who feel down about NaNoWriMo, I say: Don’t let the count get to you. If you finish before the “goal” then you’re done. Don’t work yourself too hard and remember, when your story is done, it’s done. If you can add more, add more IF it will make sense. I could have ended my novel about 4-5000 words earlier than I did, but I wanted to wrap up loose ends and hit the 50K goal. That’s just me.

If you fail NaNoWriMo: No big deal. Seriously, it’s NOT a big deal. My first NaNoWriMo I flopped. BIG time! I did two Camp NaNoWriMos during this summer and I failed one. Did it bother me? Yes. Does it now? No. I failed. So what? It’s not the end of the world. I’m still going, still learning. My plot wasn’t strong enough, so I learned from it. I don’t have people reading everything or cross-checking things with me, or even pestering me to finish. What I DO have, it a will and drive to write. Something I love to do.

Peace everyone. This writer is a bit tired. Again, if you have questions, ask them. I’ll answer what I can.

~Heather/Razor

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. BrantleyNewton / Nov 21 2013 11:34 PM

    Congrats on finishing! Great to see that you never fell behind and were on top of it all month!

    • Heather / Nov 21 2013 11:35 PM

      I had a great support team, I’m happy to say. Are you participating? How’s your count?

      • BrantleyNewton / Nov 21 2013 11:39 PM

        Yes this is my first year! I didn’t hear about it until 11/1 and didn’t sit down to get cracking until 11/4, but I’ve been all caught up for the most part. Right now I’m about 1,200 words behind my goal pace, but when I’ve had time to sit down and write, I’ve averaged 2 days worth of words per sitting so I’m not sweating it.

        Having that support is definitely key!

      • Heather / Nov 21 2013 11:42 PM

        Welcome to the insanity! 😀 Do you read the NaNoToons? It’s full of awesome writer-ly style adventures during NaNoWriMo. And NaNoWriMo has a Twitter account they update. It’s great.

        I’m really glad to hear you’re getting the words out like that. When the words flow it’s so much easier.

        I couldn’t do it as well without my support.

      • BrantleyNewton / Nov 21 2013 11:52 PM

        No I haven’t heard of Nanotoons…I will have to look that up! I will def check out the twitter too!

      • Heather / Nov 22 2013 3:00 AM

        NaNoToons are just plain awesome. Errol does them. And there’s also the NaNoMusical from 2012 through YouTube.

      • BrantleyNewton / Nov 22 2013 10:18 AM

        Haha will definitely take a look!

  2. Aussa Lorens / Nov 25 2013 12:44 AM

    Damn girl, that is insane. Not only did you “win” NaNo but you finished with time to spare? Killer, you are a killer.
    When will you start editing?

    • Heather / Nov 25 2013 9:27 PM

      Not too sure when I’ll start editing, but aiming for either around Thanksgiving or in December.

  3. kirkesmorgan / Jan 1 2014 5:34 PM

    Hey! Nice to see you outside deviant art!

    • Heather / Jan 1 2014 8:22 PM

      You! *glomps and giggles* How are you?

      • kirkesmorgan / Jan 2 2014 7:37 PM

        Hai! 😀 I’m having in there! Hoping to get employed again soon ><;; Wanting to make some money on some publications I hope! D:

      • Heather / Jan 2 2014 8:20 PM

        Best of luck to you on both routes. Neither seems to be easy these days. I look forward to reading updates! Twitter is a great place for some information since many publishers and such are using it more. I’ve seen a ton of information links.

      • kirkesmorgan / Jan 2 2014 8:25 PM

        Thanks! Sounds like a good idea! I’ve got my toes in a few places so I hope I can get in there some how!

      • Heather / Jan 2 2014 8:43 PM

        I hope.

Trackbacks

  1. November NaNoWriMo Adventure : new update | Spunky Wayfarer
  2. NaNoWriMo Update: winding down | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

