Skip to content
April 30, 2014 / Heather

Reading, Decisions, Editing

Reading

I’m always reading something. Some book. Tuesday I bought my copy of How to Seduce a Vampire (Without Really Trying) by Kerrelyn Sparks (link to goodreads page) and I finished it Wednesday night. So just over 24 total hours of having the book. I love the series. That’s all the more I’ll say for now because I have other things to talk about here. 😀 Suffice to say I HIGHLY recommend the books if you enjoy vampires, shifters, paranormal, and romance.

Since I finished the book I needed something else to read. What do I grab? This actually took me a while and I finally decided on Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton (again, link to goodreads). People, if all you have to say about a book is “I’ve been with it this long” or something like the main character has changed over the last x number of books and you don’t like it, A) Don’t read the book! B) Find something MORE to talk about if you’re “reviewing” the book. Please. I don’t mind seeing stuff like “I know characters change, but I’m not pleased with this, hoping something happens and s/he changes for the better” or something like that. I don’t even mind books I love having 1 star reviews because I know not everyone likes everything. I’m stopping myself here before I rant more. Reading is good. Read more.

 

Decisions

Good *insert word here* decisions are NOT my thing. Unless it comes to writing something or deciding small things like what program to work with to make something. My mother constantly got shrugs from me about deciding things like helping her plan meals for the coming week or even for that night and out of x, y, and z what sounded good for supper. I love my mom and I try to be good about not shrugging or saying “I don’t know”.

Deciding what book to read? Impossible! I have so much trouble that unless I start one book before I finish another or I’m reading a series that I know I’m going to read through solidly I have such a hard time figuring out what book to read next it’s unreal. Often it involves me talking with friends and several times mentioning book titles and how I don’t know what to read and I have books 1, 2, 3… 15 that I’ve wanted to read for so long and I don’t know what one next. x.x My friends put up with a LOT of this from me. Especially lately because I’ve been flying through books like crazy which is good because I’ve got a TON of books to get through!

All-in-all decisions and I have a love-hate relationship and that works until I’m made to decide all the things with someone. Catfish has learned this because I’ve told him he has to make a decision for me and I get him to. Sometimes this does not work.

Decisions at work are another matter entirely.

 

Editing

Yes, editing. I finished writing Cry, Wolf, Cry which was my Camp NaNoWriMo story (and the 2nd part to Annabee) some time ago and soon I’ll be editing it and plotting out my next Camp NaNoWriMo (July) so I’m not writing by the seat of my pants more than I usually do. I try to avoid seat of the pants writing because it doesn’t work well for me. If it works for you cool, awesome, congrats. I need more planning. My characters run off with my story often enough as is, they do NOT need help. I often end up so involved in my story that I forget this thing called a “plot sheet” even exists.

More writing goodies to come. I’m excited.

 

Lots of things are happening. I’m trying to make regular posts, but forgive me if I don’t?

 

Highlight of the night: finding out “thwacking” is an accepted term by my browser’s spell check feature. And my iPod. I find this pretty cool.

 

Peace everyone.

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

