Skip to content
May 21, 2014 / Heather

Writing and Injuries

So in this post about surviving NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNo I mention that you should take breaks every now and then and say that wrist injuries or writing-related injuries suck that I spoke from experience.

I’m not kidding.

They really DO suck because if you’ve got something like carpal tunnel or tendinitis (or tendonitis according to different people/websites but spell check doesn’t like that word) it’s painful.

When I was… 18 and a senior in high school (yes, I had to think about my age) I was writing a lot by hand and my wrist was hurting badly. I was also typing a lot. Notes for classes, stuff at home, homework, etc. I was constantly typing or writing something. Constantly.

So eventually I went in to the doctor and was told it’s tendonitis (screw you spell check) which is inflammation of the tendons. I was given some medication and told to wear a wrist brace.

Here I am sitting at 23 years old and I spend most to all of my day at work writing or typing among other things and when I come home I write/type.

Tendonitis, unlike carpal tunnel, has no surgery as far as I’ve known. They are different things, but both cause pain. If you do suffer from either of these Aleve (or the generic if you prefer prices being cheaper like me) helps. There’s a reason I have that with me wherever I go.

I’m not the only one who’s telling people take care of yourselves. Laurell K. Hamilton has had injuries before and she’s mentioned them on her Twitter account (@LKHamilton).

Trust me, you don’t want to go through that pain. Now if I want to draw something (I draw traditional because I haven’t learned digital the way I want yet) I have to be careful. What used to take me hours or minutes can now take days or even longer hours. I have to watch how much I write by hand. Even the weather, when it gets summery here in Indiana I have to watch what I do with my wrist. Typing, writing, moving. It’s started acting up and I’m looking at buying a spare wrist brace because you never know. It’s a pain to wear the brace and I’ll still type or write with it, but it keeps the wrist itself from moving though I’m not sure it does anything at all since tendons aren’t connected to the outer skin… I still hope and try.

Injuries of any sort aren’t fun, but don’t let them keep you from doing what you love to do. Just take it slower and take breaks.

My biggest fear about my wrist is once I can finally go back to college I’ll have my writing/research, work stuff, and college notes and things. When I was last in college I couldn’t write a one-page essay solidly without my wrist hurting incredibly bad.

One odd thing I did find out though, my penmanship has gotten BETTER since I’ve been typing more. I don’t know why, and I’m not the only one to make this discovery.

Also, different types of keyboards and mice and even pens/pencils DO help wrist problems. Even sitting differently helps.

That’s all for now folks. I promised a post on writing injuries and here it is. If you have something to add, please do. Peace.

~Heather/Razor

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. neasha1 / May 21 2014 9:44 PM

    I have to stop frequently and then and stretch my hands and wrists. Or take a break for a few days then start again. Blah, it seems like I’m being a baby and I’m okay with that! :))

    ~~Happy Blogging!

    • Heather / May 21 2014 9:49 PM

      Sometimes it really does help. Though at times cool packs at my wrists help. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

