Skip to content
July 16, 2014 / Heather

Nails Hurt

At least that’s my experience. >.<

For those who are new or who haven’t read my last update, I stopped biting my nails over a month ago. Nearly 2 months or something. I really should have written down the date so I could keep better track. I know it was at the end of a month. Anyway…

Nothing really prompted me to stop like health or something dramatic, it’s just something I stopped doing. And it hurts.

My nails are long enough now that, while they’re not talons or daggers, they’re sharp enough to scratch on things like keyboard keys and I can tap on a counter with just using the nails and it’s kind of awkward.

The worst part is that I’m hurting myself and don’t really know what to do about it. So I’m being extra careful when I’m around people and kids and Catfish. I don’t want to hurt anyone. Yet.

There’s a part of my hair that always builds with dander when I’ve washed my hair so I scratch it. It’s also just habit to scratch there. Well, the other day I felt something ON my head so I made a mental note to check a bathroom mirror next time I was near one and I’ve seemed to have scratched myself raw/bloody and what I felt was a scab. Not the first time it’s happened, but before it was usually because I was digging or my hair was so thick that I was sweating and my shampoo wasn’t helping. Not the case this time.

I have noticed that I have to be more careful with scratching itches. I probably very nearly scarred some mosquito bites around the 4th because of scratching them.

But the good news is I haven’t caused any injuries to someone else and Panda (Catfish’s brother) caught a glimpse this weekend (I haven’t seem him for a few weeks) and he asked “Is the Wolf wearing fake nails?”. Made me happy.

Camp NaNoWriMo has been going well. I’m going for 35,000 words this month and I’m writing the follow/companion to Because I Stayed; Because I Left and so far it’s been a ride. A crazy, strange, and just… Interesting ride. My villain has threatened to run around in my head. Naked. My main female doesn’t like talking to me, but my main male has made things wonderful for me and enjoys talking with me so it’s a pleasure and easy to write his parts. Hopefully NaNoWriMo will be that easy when I get the characters fleshed out better. I have an idea, so that’s something.

And between Camp ending and NaNo beginning I’m going to attempt and write a short story/flash fiction piece or two. We’ll see. I’m slowly working on it.

Cry, Wolf, Cry is about halfway done being posted to my deviantArt and fictionpress accounts. Betrayed By You has been a lot of fun so far and I’m sitting over the halfway mark. I have less than 1500 words left to write in it and I feel the battle scenes in this one have been more interesting/better.

I picked up the new Weird Al album today and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve also been listening to Maroon 5’s album “Hands All Over” which is great. Overexposed was the ONLY thing that made me feel like music wasn’t lost for a while, so it’s a Maroon 5 era for me.

Went to a bookstore this past weekend and picked up some books. Catfish picked up some as well and was sweet. Since I’ve bought him some stuff before he bought me a couple of things. A book I’ve been lusting after/drooling about Landline by Rainbow Rowell and he bought me a Doctor Who figure. He bought some more and he got a double which he gave me. So I now have four of them sitting on my desk watching me write. Well, three Doctors and Davros. Catfish does not like Davros. I don’t have my favorite Doctor, but I do have my second favorite. Favorite is 10, Davis Tennant. Second favorite is 9, Christopher Eccleston. For those wondering, the other Doctors I have are 3, I don’t know who the actor was and I’m being too lazy to look it up right now. And 11, Matt Smith. I’m hunting my David Tennant. And maybe some of the villains. I wouldn’t mind a Weeping Angel or Centurian, or Dalek… Okay, the Angel MIGHT get a taaaaad creepy, but still. I will just position it so something is always watching it.

Enough of my Doctor talk. As much as I love the Doctor, I have other things to work on tonight. Like cleaning my desk. And working on Betrayed By You before Devlin starts streaking in my thoughts again. My head is a very… Odd place.

Has anyone else ever had issues with their nails attacking them? Any tips? What part of your body has attacked you that shocked you most? Peace for now all.

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

