Skip to content
December 3, 2014 / Heather

Writing, Newspapers, & Acknowledgment

I work in a library. I love it there.

Usually…

Week before last I was speaking with our Director. A wonderful woman I admire. She mentions that someone from the paper contacted her about NaNoWriMo and she recommended he speak with me. He left his contact information and she passed it on to me. I called him the next day and we set an interview for Monday.

Between calling the reporter and last Friday my stomach had knots in it. Interview went well! I was nervous the whole time, but yeah. Everything went well.

Until the article went through and made the front page of Monday’s paper. >.< O_O So now most of the people who come in to work mention it and most of my coworkers do too. The most common thing I get is “I didn’t know that about you”. It’s not something I really go around at work stating. Work is work. I mention it to some, but not all.

I got my hair cut on Friday. It’s short. Cut off 12 inches. More than enough to donate, so it was donated. I’m getting a lot of reactions about it being cute. I like it. I needed the change. It also means that some of the reactions are starting out about either the writing or my hair and then going to the other one. Which is funny.

I would like things to be normal again. My printer ran out of ink so I can’t continue printing the novel so I can edit it, but I have another side project I need to be plotting. I’m eager to get back to that style of writing.

On a different note of reading: I didn’t really get to do anything other than write during NaNoWriMo, so I’m getting caught up. A lot. If you want a really good, creepy, funny, and slightly romantic in the most messed up way, read You by Caroline Kepnes. I finished it in one night. Kepnes’ writing flows well and I just saw book 2 comes out next year.

Laurell K. Hamilton’s latest book Jason was released this week and she’s got Dead Ice to come out next year.

Kerrelyn Sparks has a book coming out this month as well. Crouching Tiger, Forbidden Vampire.

I’m in book heaven. Hamilton and Sparks are two of my favorite authors. And both the books Jason and Crouching Tiger, Forbidden Vampire are books I’ve been looking forward to for some time.

I’m also spending too much time playing Pokemon: Alpha Sapphire. Hit me up for friend code. Links are on the Contact Me page.

Questions? Comments? Leave ’em below. 🙂

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

