Skip to content
January 28, 2015 / Heather

Edits in Progress

I’ve been working on edits for the story I wrote in November, titles Meeting Mr. Right. I often refer to this story as MMR for short.

image

My big binder-O-edits. Top section is a printed PDF from NaNo back in 2013 I think, 2nd section is Meeting Mr. Right, third is Razor’s Secret, 4th is Accidental Vampire, nothing in sections 5 or 6, section 7 is edits from Cry, Wolf, Cry, and section 8 (the final section) is Because I Stayed; Because I Left. I should put that one in a different binder because it’s finished and so is CWC, but that’s another thing. The copy of BIS; BIL in this editing binder is finished product.

Of the 208 page single-sided printed copy of MMR I’m on page 70 to start for edits right now. This is where I needed to start for Wednesday. (I’m writing this on Tuesday and I’m a day ahead. I took two days off because I needed sleep like you wouldn’t believe and then had free time so I got ahead by a day. Might keep doing that because it means I have more time for characters and plotting and things for the rest of the year and means I can focus on other projects and maybe, just maybe, get MMR ready for something later this year.)

I’ve been working on the poetry series I’ve got planned and I’m still not certain about something with it. The series will be 44 pieces long at minimum. I will go no higher than 46 pieces. I doubt I will go beyond the 44. I’ve been consulting with Catfish on things when I can which isn’t very often, so I might be contacting a friend or two and getting input. Lupus and Kiba (nicknames, but they’re real names to me because I constantly call them these names) have been great. Kiba is currently reading through MMR to give me feedback from a reader perspective and she knows it hasn’t been edited yet. I’m enjoying my edits right now. I like the story. Kiba is also the artist I was hoping to have do a cover for MMR. I’m still talking with her about this.

Lupus has been a MAJOR rock in my life and one of my very close friends. He’s listened to me ramble and sometimes I’ll leave him rambling messages when I’m trying to think of ideas or get feedback and he lets me do this which I appreciate far more than I can say. He even gives me feedback. I appreciate all my friends, but I’ve probably driven Lupus a little crazier than most of my other friends. >.> I feel a little guilty about this, but not too terribly guilty. I’m thinking about contacting Lupus and seeing about getting his feedback on something. Bwahaha. My friends are awesome.

So! I have

  • Edits for MMR in progress
  • Poetry project planning underway
  • Camp NaNoWriMo – April planning not started, I have to go through some notes.
  • Camp NaNoWriMo – July planning not started, need to go through some notes.
  • NaNoWriMo – November nothing started yet. I have no notes for it even. I might be able to change that soon. We’ll see. Lots of time before November, hopefully that means lots of time to plan.
  • Edits for Razor’s Secret not yet started
  • Edits for Accidental Vampire not yet started. This story I will have to rewrite almost from scratch. Not sure yet.
  • Desk has been staying fairly clean, at least to the point where I can work on it all the time. Woo! Yay for planner scheduling!

If you have any questions or comments feel free to leave them in the comments or hit me up via the contact page here. Peace for now folks.

~Heather/Razor

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate M. Colby / Jan 29 2015 1:32 PM

    Wow! You certainly have a lot on your plate! I’m also editing a NaNoWriMo novel right now, and it is quite a fun and challenging process. Best of luck with all your goals!

    • Heather / Jan 29 2015 4:27 PM

      Thanks. I hope you have fun editing yours! I was talking to a friend recently and she asked if I ever take a break.

      Are you going to be participating in any of the Camp NaNos this year? I can’t wait for Camp to start.

      • Kate M. Colby / Jan 29 2015 4:43 PM

        Yes. I plan to do both camps and NaNoWriMo in November! Lots of writing ahead!

      • Heather / Feb 24 2015 11:35 AM

        I look forward to hearing about your adventures this year. I can’t wait for those deadlines!

Leave a Reply

