Skip to content
February 25, 2015 / Heather

In Progress

Monday I found myself with just a little too much time on my hands. So what do I do? After complaining to a friend Sunday night that while I wanted and needed to read through Meeting Mr. Right I didn’t want to.

I read it in a solid sitting Monday before leaving the house and found a few things to tweak.  Considering the number of corrections I made in the previous edits I’ll consider this a really good improvement.

I haven’t touched the poetry projects I plan for this year, but I’m hoping to get one or at least part of one done before planning for Camp NaNoWriMo April, but there’s something happening in March that I’m excited for.

There are also a few other things I’m excited for.

REVEAL TIME!

The poetry series I’m going to be working on this year are *insert drum roll*

Tarot cards – The Major Arcana. I might touch the Minor Arcana down the road, but the Major Arcana give me 44 poems total because I’m doing both upright and upside down meanings.

Ologies – Different studies. I’ve tried to keep it to things that are both common and some not-so-common. I used a list that came from a college site that also referenced a book or two that has some newer editions so I’ve got my fingers crossed that everything is correct.

The thing to keep in mind is that I could still get some things wrong and it’s all my perspective. I don’t claim to be an expert in ologies (ologist? Ologiest?) or in the meanings behind Tarot. I did some research, it’s something I found incredibly interesting, but that’s it.

Got something you’d like to challenge me into creating a poem out of? Leave a comment here or use the contact me page and send your suggestions that way. I’m always up for something new and weird. Sometimes friends will message me different ideas because they want to stump me, sometimes people will send me things because they want to see if it can be done. I am not an expert, I have no degree in poetry, but I have a fair amount of experience with writing poetry (I’ve been writing poems for over 10 years and probably have over 1000 pieces of poetry and yes, a lot of that still needs to be typed up. Hoping I can get around to that one of these years. If you mention you saw this through my blog I’ll not only send the piece to you directly through the means you’ve contacted me before anyone else sees it, but I’ll share here on my blog once I’ve gotten the okay from you and yes, credit you as the idea person.

I do things like this for fun now and then. It’s almost like a writing prompt at times. If you write a lot of fiction and find yourself having trouble I really recommend writing a poem or two. Even if you’ve never written any before. They’re fun, they’re not very long, and it’s a different type of writing. Writing is writing. If you’re stuck and you always type everything, hand-write something or vice-versa!

I look forward to hearing from you!

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

