Skip to content
April 1, 2015 / Heather

National Poetry Month

Happy April 1st! National Poetry Month is beginning today and I’m excited. Why?

  • Camp NaNoWriMo has begun
  • It’s National Poetry Month
    • I’m working on projects!

For Camp NaNoWriMo April 2015 my project is “I Know You” a.k.a. “Flint’s Story” (As of writing this post on 3/30/15 I still haven’t decided if the official name has changed). The story will be 15,000 words minimum (meaning 500 words a day).

For National Poetry Month I’m going to try and write at least one poem a day minimum. I’ll also be working on the Tarot Poem Series. What I’m doing with this is taking the meanings of Tarot cards and forming two poems for each card. One poem for the Upright and one for the Reversed. This series will be 44 pieces long as I’m only doing the Major Arcana cards. I do not know at this point in time if I’m going to ever write for the Minor Arcana cards. Keep in mind there are 74 cards in a Tarot Deck making 148 poems if I write a piece for Upright and Reversed for each card. I’m going to try and write 2 poems a day for the Tarot Series.

“But the Tarot Series will only give you 22 days of poetry. That least 8 days of poems you’re lacking!”

I planned this. Originally looking at it those 8 days could be Saturdays and Sundays. Giving me a break from Tarot-mania (as I might begin calling this lovely project) to write more personal poetry. Possibly about what’s happening in my life, possibly about whatever I want to write about to begin with. There’s at least one day in April where I might be able to get more writing done than planned, so it could be I finish the project early and get more personal poems in than I planned. For right now, the plan is 2 poems a day Monday through Friday and one poem each Saturday and Sunday making 52 poems for the month. While that might seem like a lot, it’s not. There was at least one month where I went through and wrote at least 100 poems. That was a few years ago, though.

This plan makes me happy. Why?

I’m going to finish “I Know You” that I’ve been wanting to write for nearly a year, finishing the Tarot Series, and challenging myself to write a poem a day mixing both “required” and personal pieces. No, no one’s forcing a deadline on me for the Tarot Series, but with some projects if I plan them and then don’t start them if I don’t make a deadline for myself then I never really finish them.

Which is why I need to schedule rewrites and plannings for stories from the past. Maybe I can find time this year or next to finally finish a story I started back in high school… Make that a story or five.

Don’t believe that National Poetry Month is really a thing? Poets.org has a nice little section on National Poetry Month.

For those interested in the poetry, I’m going to attempt writing them, typing them, then uploading them onto my DeviantART account (as well as the WordsInOurVeins group I run that got a makeover on 3/29/15 in the early morning).

Leave a Reply

