Skip to content
July 22, 2015 / Heather

Why I Won’t Finish Camp (And Why That’s Not A Bad Thing)

My last couple of weeks have been filled with a lot of thinking.

Thinking about the move and how to design the house.

Thinking about wedding stuff.

Thinking about getting my hair cut.

Thinking about not finishing my story this Camp NaNoWriMo.

Yes, you read that last one right. I’m not going to finish my story for Camp NaNoWriMo July 2015.

And I don’t feel bad about it.

Why?

The story I’m working on is titled “Returning” and it’s a story I deeply love. The characters are their own beings, the location is different, and it’s been very close to my heart for a number of years.

This story is my baby. It’s my first love in a way. And it deserves more than a month of my time writing it.

While I’ve been writing this story I’ve been finding out things that I didn’t know before. About my characters, the landscape, the history, etc. Point is I’m finding things out halfway through the month that I had no idea of and no planning for that I need to put a lot of thought into. I love when this happens.

Guys, there’s a reason that I start my NaNoWriMo plotting as early as August/September (or earlier!). I thought I had everything thought out for this story and I don’t. Realizing this is something very eye-opening and heartbreaking at the same time.

So I’m officially throwing in the towel on my Camp project. I’m coming back to it. I’m GOING to finish this story. Be it in 3 weeks, 3 months, or 3 years, I’m going to finish it. I’m determined.

There were other factors that came up making me want to stop. I live in Indiana and this Summer has been one of our worst ones in the last few years. Either it’s been raining hard and heavy or it’s been dry and hot enough that we’ve had warnings of heat advisory. I don’t do well in the heat. I ended up getting sick last weekend to the point where all I wanted to do was sleep because it was the only thing I could do where I wasn’t hot. Sleeping and taking cold showers. In the heat my wrist acts up making it hard to do much of anything.

Am I going to do Camp in the future? You bet! It’s a great thing to help out writers who, like me, might have some issues with deadline. There’s been a lot of stuff happening and it might seem like I’m backing out, but this is a me project. I’m going to look at this as extra time to work on my NaNoWriMo plotting, and editing for “Meeting Mr. Right” as well as some other things. I get to play around with some thoughts. I still don’t feel fantastic by day, but by night I feel better.

Now if I can make it through the week of short sleep and get a lot of stuff done I’ll be extremely happy.

Take this from the above:

  • I’m not finishing “Returning” this month
  • I’m not sad about not finishing it this month
  • I’ve got a lot on my mind
  • I’m going to finish this story
  • I will be back for more NaNo stuff.

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

