Skip to content
August 3, 2015 / Heather

NaNoWriMo Prep

There are just under 3 months left until NaNoWriMo starts. What does that mean?

For me, it means planning begins. The “official” NaNo Prep stuff doesn’t happen until September, but I start my prep in August so I have plenty of time to flesh out details and figure out what I want to happen. This year it’s going to be extra important since I’m hoping the move will be finished before NaNoWriMo starts. The drive change will cut into my writing time, but my sleeping schedule will change along with many other things. Catfish is awesome when it comes to my NaNo craziness and he laughs at me, calling it his gaming month. We’ve come to an agreement for November when we’re living together. I’ll be writing on my laptop, he’ll be gaming. I have headphones that can cancel out some sound, he’s got headphones that cancel out almost all sound (I’ve tried them and I’m jealous so he’s talked about getting another pair and I’ve warned him I might steal borrow them during NaNo and he’s good with this) so we’ll probably be sitting together on the couch (or on opposite ends of the couch) and he’ll be gaming away while I’m writing. And if he wants some friends over he can game in the living room and I can take my laptop anywhere in the house. If they’re too loud I’ll go to the shed, akin to Chuck Wendig who has an awesome writing shed. There are times I need quiet, and there are times I need sound around me. If I hit my goal for the day and he still wants to play that’s good because I’ll use the time to read. If he finishes gaming before I finish my writing he can read or draw or whatever he wants to do. No, we won’t forget to eat.

What am I writing this year?

I don’t really know yet. That’s why I start planning early. So I can look back through the book of ideas that I have and see what sticks out or what bites me or what new idea pops into my brain. Yes, I’m that person. I keep a notebook of ideas. A physical, little, black, book. With a label that reads “ONGOING PROJECTS”. I update this book with information as to dates I want to start, end, when edits will begin, what to do after, etc.

Time for me to get to working on some things. Thinking about an adventure story this year, but I’m not sure.

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

