Skip to content
August 12, 2015 / Heather

Project Evolution

While the title of this blog sounds like it would be a kick ass book title *jots it down for later* it’s not the title of my project for November.

This be a blog about the progression/evolution of a story! In my experience.

Some of the things I do:

  • Brainstorm
  • Brainstorming with a friend (or 3 or 4)
  • Debating with myself/bouncing ideas with a friend (again, or two or more)
  • Note taking
  • Character discussion
  • Plot chart
  • Questioning said plot chart
  • Reworking plot chart
  • Talking about plot with my characters
  • Writing
  • Getting through a plot point or two and watching my characters run away with my plot sheet and throwing all sorts of things while laughing at me and taking control of my computer and notes
  • Characters being satisfied and giving me back my plot sheet after it’s too late and there’s no need for said plot sheet until the end comes and sometimes even then it’s questionable.

There’s a reason I go through a bunch of plot sheets. And yes, while I tend to ask Catfish things about my story (like he asks me for his projects) it’s usually more like me talking with myself because he doesn’t seem to give input on things all the time.

So I also ask my friends Lupus, Brandon, and Cam. Huge shout-out and lots of love to these men because they’re friends who give me feedback. Little bit about them.

Lupus – Met through DeviantArt a few years back, he’s like my brother and he’s usually the one commenting on everything I share on facebook. He and I have an ongoing “Snoopy battle” where we find different Snoopy things and either send them to each other for birthdays or take pictures and send those to each other because we’re weird like that. He’s also a horror movie buff friend of mine.

Cam – Like a big brother to me from the beginning I met him through an ex-gf of his and she vanished while he would still talk and hang around with us. He got me into playing Magic the Gathering and he’s a really cool guy to talk with. I don’t get to talk with him nearly as much as I’d like to which saddens me, but he’s happy in his life right now and I’m thrilled to see him this happy.

Both Lupus and Cam are readers, but Brandon is a writer-friend of mine.

Brandon – Met him probably 3 or 4 years ago and I don’t get to talk with him nearly as much as I’d like to. He’s turned me on to some really good authors like Jim Butcher and Kevin Hearne and he not only talks books, he talks writing. We seem to go back and forth on bouncing ideas off of each other and I love hearing about his story and what he’s writing about. He writes about things similar to what he reads and it’s extremely exciting and thrilling and it’s all magic and wonder and makes me squee. I’m eager to see the day where he has a book out.

Other writers I want to feature include W.D. Lady who has a sale going on currently only for another few days and who has been there since the day I met her and who cheers everyone on in life even when her life isn’t cheering her on.

Mimi who shares struggles of balancing multiple portions of life like school, relationship, writing, deadlines, and deadlines.

And R. A. Slone who was in the same writing group I was in for a while. I’m going to read her book as soon as I get the chance and I’m excited because it’s a story that she’s been working on for a long time and brought different parts to group so I’ve read a few bits of what’s coming and I’m really excited. I hadn’t seen her in a while and she stopped by work one day and we started talking about it and I am ecstatic that she’s published. It’s a HUGE step and having seen it from writing group and the evolution is amazing to me.

The evolution of a story is often very different for each person. My own methods have been found with a lot of trial and error and I still have errors happening in trials. There are a lot of other writers (like Ixris/Rabs) that I’d love to mention more of, but I don’t have all the space I’d like to use to signal boost. Maybe another day. There are plenty of days left after all.

80 days until NaNoWriMo and I’m still working on planning and enjoying it thoroughly. I made a big step and there’s a story or two that I’d like to write right now. One of which being just a goofy little story that will require some interesting research that will bring in a LOT of questions from whoever looks at my browser history if anyone sees what I’m researching. I blush easily and it will probably make me blush to share what the story is about depending on who I’m telling. I came up with the title at work, too, so that’s really weird to think about. Hopefully there will be more posts about this story later as they come. If it works out how I’m wanting it to then there will be more posts about it in a different way. *sneaky cheshire-esque grin*

That’s all for now folks. Remember: No matter what your art or writing there are no two processes that are the same.

~Heather/Razor

Leave a Reply

