Skip to content
September 11, 2015 / Heather

Tips for NaNoWriMo

I couldn’t really say it better myself. I spend months preplanning everything I can and I still don’t always have everything figured out. Plot holes and plot bunnies always show up.

Keeping Procrastination at Bay

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafb
Before I share another list of story seed ideas, I’m going to take today to discuss NaNoWriMo itself a bit more. 50,000 words in a month is a lot of work for each day, and it often takes not only pre-planning, but also a variety of tricks for Wrimos to prevail with their sanity intact.

Before November, I will share various things I have learned about how to survive–no, how to thrive during the potentially harsh conditions of NaNoWriMo. For now, I am going to focus on tips that you can start doing right now, while you’re still planning out your novel weeks in advance.

1. Give it time.
In a previous blog post, I suggested using the next several weeks as practice for NaNoWriMo in the area of finding and making daily writing time. Whether you are using my activities or doing pre-writing of your own, commit…

View original post 763 more words

Leave a Reply

