Skip to content
September 23, 2015 / Heather

Writing Groups

Recently I’ve been attending a new writing group because the one in the city I currently live in (haven’t moved yet) wasn’t a good fit for me.

I go to a writing group held at the library in the city where Catfish currently lives and where we’ll be moving to. I love this writing group. It’s small, but warm and welcoming and no one minds if we go off topic because we ALL go off topic. We get there a little early and for the beginning of the meeting we talk about what’s happened since we last met and all sorts of things like movies, music, etc. After one meeting I went so far as to get my schedule adjusted so I could be there on time for the meeting unless I’m covering a shift. I love this group and it’s one of the things I look forward to each week now.

Our NaNoWriMo region has a Skype group that we chat in during the year, and some of us branched it off with another group where we take an hour each week and we help each other with plotting and development and we give critique. It’s a nice group with easy to get along with people, just like the one mentioned in the paragraph above.

The last group I’m going to talk about hasn’t started working on writing yet, but we’re working on it. This last one is in Google Hangouts and we’re pretty much open to anyone who wants to join us. We started calling ourselves Writers Grove and we’ve just been talking off and on and laughing lately. It’s great because there’s an app for it where you can use a mobile device, but there’s also the web link where you can be on a computer. It works really well and there’s some really fun conversations that we’ve had. There are only four of us, all different levels.

If you want to know more about writing groups research it and ask questions. I’m happy to answer anything that I can, but there’s only so much that I can answer from my own experience. The thing I’ve learned is that you need to have your own experiences before you make the decision for yourself. I’ve been to a few different groups and it took me a while before I found even one where I felt accepted. You might not feel accepted by everyone, especially right away so it might take you a while. Give it some time. I got really lucky with the one that meets physically. There’s also a NaNoWriMo chat on deviantART that I spend a lot of time in during November and late October.

Keep writing guys. Groups aren’t for everyone, but they do help a number of people.

~Heather/Razor

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Story in the Frame / Sep 29 2015 11:06 AM

    Very interesting. So do you actually collaborate on writing projects with the group? Or is it primarily for support and feedback? I have a tendency to “go it alone” with mixed levels of success haha. I’ve always meant to look into writing groups though.

    By the way, this is Brantley of the Brantley Blog (which kinda fell by the wayside). I just wanted to reconnect because you used to be a follower and I wanted to share with you my new project: The Story in the Frame. It’s an artistic collaboration between myself and my girlfriend (a photographer). I’m writing short stories about her photography now!

    • Heather / Sep 29 2015 11:13 AM

      I wondered what happened to you! Missed seeing your posts on here.

      It’s more for support. Like if you’re having issues with a chapter you can read it to the group and get feedback on it. It’s also a great way to bounce ideas if you’re not sure about a chapter or few chapters. I’m having an issue with a story because I’m editing it and reading it to group for feedback and I got scared when I read aloud for the 1st chapter.

Leave a Reply

