Skip to content
October 7, 2015 / Heather

Meet the Characters!

NaNoWriMo is right around the corner. I’m not really nervous for it, but at the same time I am.

So let’s meet the cast for The Fur Guard, shall we?

Uncle Dier Frek (die-air fr-eck) – Tall with black hair that’s turning white from age. Nicknamed Death because he brings death to anyone who dares harm the royal family, Dier is the ultimate quiet assassin. If the family needs him guarding them that’s what he does. If the family needs him to go and kill someone for the right reason then he does it. Has one little brother, one sister-in-law, one niece, and one nephew. In his wolf form he has black fur and the fur around his muzzle is silver/white. When he has to kill he does so quickly and without hesitation. He jokingly calls his home the “Death Nest”. He’s 53 years old and the reason Ry-Ann is alive.

Ry-Ann Frek – Female, slightly taller than average with a shaggy pixie cut. She has silver hair, but when she turns into a wolf her fur is grey with flecks of white. Goes by Ry. Loves her uncle more than anyone else. Age 25.

Rycroft Frek – Male, tall with long hair (slightly past shoulders). Has a slight goatee and his facial hair is slightly darker than his multi-shade brown hair. In his wolf form his fur is light grey with white flecks. Resents his family. Age 25.

Makiel Whitethorn (mak-ee-el) – Average height with shaggy golden hair that’s slightly longer than Ry-Ann’s. In his wolf form his fur is grey with flecks of gold, the gold flecks distinguishing that he is from the royal bloodline. Not exactly eager to become King one day. Age 22.

So this is the crazy cast of characters that I’m going to be working with in November. I don’t have all the details planned out yet, but I’ve got a majority of what I want to have planned figured out. Obviously I didn’t share everything about these characters here, but what fun would it be if I shared everything before I even start writing the story?

Have questions that you want to ask any of my characters? Have questions that you want to ask me? Leave a comment or send me a message at hrshavor@gmail.com.


 

Catfish and I have stayed some nights at the house. We ended up painting a room Monday. We’re not finished yet because we were waiting on trim from the ceiling rails to finish drying, but it was extremely slow going and we didn’t get a chance to finish it because we had to leave, but we got the walls painted and the ceiling rails are done! Once we finish the rest of the walls we can officially start moving in furniture!!! This makes me beyond happy because at the current time it’s just… An empty room. A sad, empty room. And once we get furniture moved in there will be *gasp* more places to sit! And we will be that much closer to being moved in. I’m excited and getting more and more excited as things come along. We’ve hit some stumbling blocks along the way, but that’s part of life, right? Wish us luck, folks.

~Heather/Razor

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristi / Oct 9 2015 11:50 PM

    At least now I understand the title. I read it on your NaNo profile a few days ago, and wasn’t sure why you’d chosen that. It makes a lot more sense now, after reading about the characters.

    • Heather / Oct 10 2015 2:47 PM

      The title came right around the same time the idea did, so I’ve been working around that for the hierarchy which still needs fleshed out. I’m hoping to do some more detailed “interview” type things with the characters, but I’m worried that might give too much away. That, and I need questions for them so it should prove interesting for that part.

Leave a Reply

