Skip to content
November 11, 2015 / Heather

For the Love of Sanity

NaNo is officially on day 11 right now and yes, I’m writing this the same day I’m posting because I can’t seem to keep getting more words out. I left the house and came to a coffee shop so I’d not be staring at the same 8 walls (living room and kitchen) while trying to crank out more words. It feels weird to keep escaping a little bit like this. I’ve never had issues writing while I’m sitting at home before. Maybe it’s the new house being new and the fact that I’m spending time there alone while Catfish is at work? Or maybe it’s the fact that I was hoping to hang out with a friend today and I never got responses from her. Who knows. It’s understandable either way. I’m just going a little stir crazy.

Excited for the weekend. Catfish’s family is doing an early Thanksgiving and I’m bringing some desserts. Sitting at a coffee shop drinking tea also means I have internet to write and schedule blog post! (Yeah, still working on getting internet at the house.)

Word count sitting at 18,585 right now meaning I’m on par for day 11, but I’d like to be ahead by now. It’s been a slow last few days. My best days seem to have been Mondays when I’m attending write-ins at the library. For some reason when I’ve got a time limit like that 2 hours there it’s incredibly easy to crank out 2000 words, but give me a whole day and everything seems to look interesting and shiny new. Not really odd, but it’s the whole procrastination aspect of everything.

Lots of things are happening it feels like, but I don’t feel overwhelmed right now. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m off work this week (yay vacation time). Or maybe it’s the fact that I’m able to not think about work right now. (I stopped in Monday for the write-in and I stopped in yesterday to return books.) Part of me doesn’t want vacation to end. Scared about a few different things coming up. We’ll see what’s going to happen and how things work out.

For now I’m just glad that I’ve been able to get out, get more writing down, and getting some things done. We’ll see how much I can get done this weekend. Hoping it’s a lot, but doesn’t feel like a lot.

Peace for now folks.

~Heather/Razor

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. TLFrench / Nov 13 2015 8:03 AM

    Happy Early Thanksgiving! Enjoy your weekend. Save some dessert for me. 😀

    • Heather / Nov 17 2015 2:54 PM

      There’s a good bit of the oreo dessert I made still at my house. How goes your writing?!

      • TLFrench / Nov 17 2015 9:44 PM

        Word count wise it’s going so much better than I expected it to this year. Trying to ignore the fact that I have no clue where this story is going still. lol It’s getting there. How is your writing going?

      • Heather / Nov 19 2015 4:08 PM

        My writing is still going slow. I’m about 3-4k behind at this point. Still. Hoping to get a lot of writing done this weekend. I’m so far behind where I thought the novel would be it’s not even funny at this point. And it never fails that when I hit my best strides I’ve only got a certain amount of time before I have to go to bed and get up at 4 something in the morning.

Leave a Reply

