Skip to content
January 14, 2016 / Heather

2016 Reading Challenge & Fuck You Cancer

As some of you already know I’m a member on Goodreads, which helps keep track of what I’ve read and things I want to read. If I used it better I would have shelves listed of books I own or things like that, but I’m not yet that organized!

Goodreads lets users take a reading challenge “I want to read _ books this year” and I have signed up the last few years. 2016 will be my 4th year doing the reading challenge.

As follows you’ll see year – number read/goal number

2013 – 125/100

2014 – 120/50

2015 – 124/50

2016 (as of writing this post) – 7/75

I have made some goals for this year as well, which seems almost odd to me at this point because it’s a list that kind of keeps growing.

  • Read 75 books (at least 3 off my to read shelf at home)
  • Lose x lbs. (I’m not saying that here)
  • Edit The Fur Guard (so far so good)
  • Draft filler posts for blog (for times when I forget to write a post so I can just come on and send one through)
  • Do more with WordsInOurVeins (the group on DeviantArt that I founded years ago with someone who is no longer a friend) – WIOV expanded over the years from being solely a poetry group where we had sporadic submissions to a group that has organized folders, regular submissions, and accepts prose writing on top of the poetry submissions.
  • Read more at writing group. – I feel comfortable around these people, but I’m still very shy with face-to-face critique and I know this story is going to be torn apart. It terrifies me to no end so I always try to push my work back and let others take the lead and that sometimes means we don’t have time for my piece and I’m usually okay with that. Until I get home and feel bad that it’s been so long without my reading or doing anything with the story. (I’ve edited the first five chapters of the story so far and only read one in group.)

I really need to make a reading list. I tried this one year, but I hardly read ANYTHING on it which made me feel terrible and it was also a year where I purchased a lot of books that went onto the to read piles… I have gotten more into audiobooks and that helps with the commute to and from work (currently listening to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone which is amazing as an audiobook and I can’t decide if I want to play music or listen to the next book because I’m almost done with book 1. I’ve read books 1 through 5 before, but want to reread them before reading the last two books.

I’ll sign off this time with a big “Fuck You Cancer!” because it’s a big year for the big c so far. Two great people have already succumbed to it and I know people who fight with it every day.

~Heather/Razor

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristi / Jan 15 2016 1:56 AM

    Because of you mentioning it near the end of 2015, I decided to sign up for a challenge on Goodreads this year (and to sign up for Goodreads in the first place). I used to read a lot, but in recent years I don’t finish many books. At this point, if I read 25 books all this year, I’ll be happy.

    I don’t know how anyone can ever read part of a work in progress out loud to a group. I can barely handle knowing people are reading it themselves, when it’s still in revision mode. Good luck with that in the future, as well as all of your goals! (But mostly the reading out loud thing.)

    • Heather / Jan 15 2016 5:09 AM

      I have a friend in group who doesn’t seem to worry about feedback and another two in group who don’t seem to have any trouble with it.

      During part of the year I read kid books to see what some popular ones are at work, and audiobooks on commute should make it easier too.

      Good luck with your reading challenge! I look forward to seeing your updates on there.

      Thank you for your support. I greatly appreciate it.

      • Kristi / Jan 15 2016 8:23 PM

        I don’t have solid enough blocks of time for audio books, but smaller chunks here and there might still work. Though I don’t like listening to audio books much, because I have a hard time following it. Then I get lost and have to go back, which I do while reading too, but it’s easier to go back and figure out where I got lost while reading.

        I can understand there are some people who read part of a draft to a group…but I don’t know *how* they do it. The group here at our library that’s still pretty new has asked me to read a few minutes of my finished novel draft. I probably will, because I need to be willing to do that, but it’s a finished draft. And I still had a hard time answering when it was first brought up. Oh, and it’s worth mentioning that the group only has about 4-5 people in it on a full night so far.

      • Heather / Jan 15 2016 9:05 PM

        That’s about like this one. 4 or maybe 6 on a given meeting. Usually 4 or 5. I’m glad you’ve got a group now.

  2. Tippy Rex / Jan 15 2016 10:21 AM

    Good resolutions! Is Razor your biker name? I love it.

    • Heather / Jan 15 2016 10:33 AM

      Razor is a nickname someone gave me long ago. I’m not a biker. The name also doubles as one of my major characters and a nickname to this day.

      • Tippy Rex / Jan 15 2016 11:02 AM

        That is an awesome nickname. I dated a guy who used to call me T-Rex. I kept dating him for longer than I should have because I liked the nickname.

      • Heather / Jan 15 2016 11:58 AM

        Been there done that. That’s an awesome name too.

Leave a Reply

