Skip to content
January 27, 2016 / Heather

Poetic Thoughts

If you’ve known me for any length of time you’re likely aware that what got me started writing is poetry and that I’ve done multiple poem series such as ologies, sins/virtues, and more as well as a slew of poems that I’ve shared over the years on my DeviantART page as well as in WordsInOurVeins where I seem to have yet to share my prose work.

Why am I mentioning this for the hundredth time? Because I’m thinking about working on more poetry. I’ve been wanting to write more for some time, but I’m also wanting to get more out there. I go through this about once a year where I try my best to get back to those roots and get writing more poetry so it’s not all paranormal fiction prose writing.

There’s also an idea that I’ve been wanting to try for some time, but I’m not certain about it. It came up when I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell a couple years ago and resurfaced when I joined FictionPress and now that I’ve joined Wattpad it’s come up again. I’ve been debating all this time about writing a story and posting it online chapter by chapter like I did with other stories, but this would be different. There would be only edits as I go and I wouldn’t post chapters until I finished them. So I’d aim for a chapter or two a week and once I finished them give them a quick edit over and then post them for critique.

This terrifies me right now.

So I’m focusing more on poetry again. It helps that I heard about something happening that a friend told me about and that it’s a short thing that I don’t need a lot of time and that I could share online again. It’s just some thoughts…

So what do you think, friend and reader? Of me writing more poetry, of me doing the story in post-as-you-go format, and in general. WordsInOurVeins is still looking for moderator additions. Hit me up if you’re interested.

~Heather/Razor

The WIOV icon was not made by me, but by someone on dA that I haven’t spoken with in some time. I’ve used it here because it’s the symbol of the group and I’m hoping it gets recognizable.

Leave a Reply

