Skip to content
November 2, 2016 / Heather

Um… Oops?

So, I haven’t posted anything on here for three weeks. I’m a terrible person because of it because every Wednesday that’s come around I’ve just remembered that I didn’t draft something up as I was heading out the door for work. I’m ashamed of myself. I need to do better. >.<

My birthday was October 23rd and it was alright. I left the house once and that was to go get food with Catfish. Got some writing done on Unexpected Moments. It also started the week from hell.

Monday I was alright, coughing and sneezing, but Tuesday I’d found out I’d made a big mistake and Wednesday I made the phone call to inform the people it effected. Wednesday night into Thursday morning I was coughing and hacking so much that I was up about half the night JUST doing that. Add to it that I’d had trouble getting back to sleep and you’ve got a real winning night lined up there, huh?

Thursday I called in sick to work. I left a voicemail message for one of my supervisors and when I saw her the next day she said she didn’t even recognize my voice from that message. It wasn’t really a shock because part of the reason I stayed home was because I couldn’t talk! My voice is STILL scratchy off and on. Saturday night was probably the worst of it because the stone in my engagement ring decided to run away. *headdesk* I’d been worried all along that would happen because this is my luck, people. And it’s also one of the reasons that I don’t want any stones in a ring I wear. The main reason being that I use my hands and having something poking out off my finger makes it harder to work with my hands without getting said poking out thing caught on everything in creation! Catfish wasn’t concerned. His response? We’re going to have our rings next year and it’s just a stone. Which is basically him saying that it doesn’t make a difference if there is or isn’t a ring because it doesn’t change anything about us being together. We’re still together. We’re still engaged.

Enough about all that though. There is good news from when I was sick. Because I can only sleep so much and there’s only so much T.V. I can watch I ended up working on Unexpected Moments while Catfish went and saw a friend of his and then played some games. He did take care of me while I was sick in our way which is basically if I ask for something he makes or gets it. >.> Like tea. Mmmm teeeeaaaaa. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t make tea the same way he does it. Doesn’t matter if I do the exact same thing the exact same way with the exact same items it STILL turns out differently. I just don’t get it…

Back to the good news. I not only ended up working on Unexpected Moments, I FINISHED Unexpected Moments!!! I ended up having a total of 134 pieces per character, so 268 total pieces of official story plus a cover page/title page, and the introductory pieces. Editing this will not be super fun, but I’m having fun teasing folks in writing group because I was sick from it last week and this week a couple of people were missing for one reason or another. I’ve read through part 115 for each character in group and next week is our last meeting for 2 weeks so if I don’t finish sharing it in group next week I’ll get to laugh and grin because at least one person has admitted that she wants to know what happens and it’ll drive her nuts if I don’t finish next week. XD

I love it. I love going to that writing group.

I AM participating in NaNoWriMo again this year, but so far I’ve been behind. We’re only on day 2 and I haven’t even met par for day 1, so I’m not doing very well so far. I need to write about 2300 words in the rest of today to fully catch up with where I should be.

The reason I’m not totally freaking out over that is because I’ve taken vacation this month (like I have the last 2-3 years). My normal week and a couple of days extra which is really nice for me. I feel like I’ve been extra stressed out with a few things so having even the one extra day was nice. There are also some nice changes coming up at work that I’m really eager for that don’t affect anything I do, but they’re just nice to know it’s going to happen some time. And I’m not the only one excited.

I have no cover for Unexpected Moments and I don’t have one for the current NaNo project. IT’s just something that I’m going to be working on. The title is “Miles Away”. And it’s kind of going to be a joke later in the book.

Fun note, my friend, Monkey, has been playing a game so I’ll get random texts from her with pictures and maybe a message asking for help or her saying she has no idea what the answer is. It’s a riddle game that gives you a riddle and letters to use to make the answer. The first one she sent me I knew right away because it’s an old riddle and one I really enjoy because it involves fire.

img_20160816_110502.jpg

Enough about all that for now. I have other things to do like work on my novel. And read. And figure out how to NOT spend all my time counting down the days to my vacation… ^.^

~Heather/Razor

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. WDLady / Nov 3 2016 3:42 PM

    It’s good to see you posting again. Sorry to hear you’ve been pretty sick though. That kind of sucks actually. 😦 This is rather late and may not mean much now, but for what it’s worth Happy Belated Birthday anyway. ^_^ If I had known earlier, I would’ve sent you a note beforehand. At least you’re having fun at the writing group. They seem like really nice people and all. You take care now and I do hope to hear from you soon.

    • Heather / Nov 3 2016 4:28 PM

      *hugs* I’ve missed hearing from you. Drop me a message some time. Thank you. It means more than you think. Writing group is made of awesome people. It’s like the in-person version of the NaNo Chat.

Leave a Reply

