Skip to content
December 16, 2016 / Heather

Book Review: Dream of My Heart

I met J L Walker through a mutual friend and we talk fairly regularly. What do we talk about? Writing of course! Dream of My Heart is Walker’s second book and follows her first book Picture My Heart. The two are listed as a series, but work well as standalone novels.

51a69wk16zl

Dream of My Heart opens with Amanda (Mandy) and Jerry talking about Amanda’s husband, Bart.

Amanda faced a large struggle in Picture My Heart and in Dream of My Heart she faces not only those struggles, but new ones that no one saw coming.

There are a number of things that Amanda didn’t think of, the first being that she’d lose her husband. Moving, finding a job, figuring out her life, learning about love all over again and… Attempted murder?

This book quickly became one of my top reads in 2016. Why? For one thing, it made me cry. Both happy and sad tears. And I did tell Walker this. Quite a bit. We both laughed.

“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” – Robert Frost

I do recommend reading these books, especially if you’re interested in the romance and romantic suspense genres. They’re easy to read and it’s fairly easy to tell what’s happening. There were a few things Walker and I talked about, but those will remain between her and me. Unless they’re on my Amazon and Goodreads reviews, which I think I mentioned some spots, but nothing specific maybe. It’s been a few months and quite a few books since I read these.

~Heather/Razor

*Note: I was not asked to write a review on my blog, but Walker had asked for my feedback when I read them. I blog of my own accord and have been meaning to post this blog for months since I read them back in Autumn. >.>

Leave a Reply

