Skip to content
December 21, 2016 / Heather

Goals for 2017

I know 2017 is still slightly over a week away, but I do have some goals that I’m going to share here.

  • Come up with 3-5 new story ideas
  • Commission 2-3 artists (I have two for sure in mind, maybe a third)
  • Use Facebook author page (I’ve got one created, but I don’t use it so it’s blank as fresh snow).
  • Edit, edit, edit
  • Submit at least three poems to Caliban (an online magazine I heard about in college)
  • Post 50 NEW pieces to DeviantART (so 1 a week roughly. I might post these on Wattpad).
  • Meditate every 1-2 weeks for 15-30 minutes minimum.
  • Make/Post videos of reading poetry to YouTube. Not necessarily videos of me reading poetry, but maybe with words scrolling on the screen. We’ll see if this is feasible for me. I suck at YouTube.

These are just things I’m challenging myself to. Nothing overly serious, just things that I want to accomplish or attempt during the year. There are, of course, other things that I’m going to be attempting and doing during the year, but these are some things I can focus on and do when I please them with a deadline of the end of the year.

I’ve been wanting to submit to Caliban since I heard about it in college, but I’ve always been too afraid to.

I’m running out of story ideas in my little black book.

I always want to commission artists, especially artist friends and there’s one I’m talking with about possibly doing character sketches for a story of mine, and she’ll be credited if I publish that book. The other artist I know I want to commission is one I have a piece by that’s framed and I’d very much like to get another piece by her.

I’ve submitted VERY few pieces to dA this year and that’s not something I want to have happen.

I used to meditate, but I haven’t for a number of years and it’s a great way to get out of my headspace while simultaneously staying in my headspace if that makes any sense at all. What this really means is it’s a great way for me to relax and clear myself. It’s my take a few deep breaths to clear my head technique. It’s my I need time before I snap technique. It’s something I miss. A lot.

While I’ve had a YouTube account for some years I was never really big on uploading videos. There are a few out there, but nothing I’d promote. The poetry reading, however, IS something I’d be up for promoting. Especially for those who might not have a DeviantART account and who would rather hear it read than read it. Downside to this is a really dislike my own voice so it’s hard for me to get past that and really get the guts to do such a thing. The part about if it’s feasible for me and that I suck at YouTube is because I’ve never regularly uploaded to it so I don’t have a handle on it. I also never made videos using a program and things have changed a LOT since I last attempted any of it. We’re talking the last time I really did any of that was like… 6 years ago, folks. So we’re talking Windows Vista or the turn where Windows 7 JUST came out. >.>

Wish me luck folks. I’m gonna need it. Especially when my planner for 2017 has coloring pages in it. >.> No, I’m not kidding. Maybe I’ll share a clip some time. It’s great for passing the time. Not so great for staying on task. Lol.

~Heather/Razor

Also, I’m thinking about changing the way I sign off to relate more with the blog. H. R. Shavor or just Shavor instead of Heather/Razor. Thoughts?

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/75SPXW8

Leave a Reply

