Skip to content
June 21, 2017 / Heather

Impending Camp NaNoWriMo

So July is coming very quickly and with July comes another round of Camp NaNoWriMo. With another round of Camp NaNo comes another attempt to continue edits on my story Unexpected Moments. Yes, I rather like that title and I think I’m going to stick with it.

In other news I’m wary about it and with all the changes and struggles I’m having with sitting down at my laptop or any computer that’s not for work and/or work related means I’ve started thinking more towards NaNoWriMo 2017 coming this November. (Which is also the month Catfish and I are getting married, Lord help us. See details further down.)

With the coming NaNoWriMo in November and knowing I won’t have a ton of time and everything else that’s happening and the fact that I don’t know what all is going to be happening and that I’m hoping maybe I’ll have a different phone before then (or God knows when or if I’ll get one) I’m toying with the idea of writing it completely mobile. This would mean me using Google Docs/Drive because I use an Android phone and I don’t plan on switching to iPhone ANY time soon if EVER in my life. I like them as devices and I own an iPod Touch, but I honestly don’t like it as a phone. I will help people learn them and you can bet your arse that I’m going to read everything I can on the devices because of my job and the fact that my parents currently have iPhones and I’m their go-to tech support. (One of these days I’m going to get a phone call and use an Indian accent to mess with them.)

My only current issue with this is the fact that I don’t know if I’ll be able to read the word count in progress or if I’ll have to toy around with that and figure something out with it. I’m also going to have to be careful because if it’s going to use data and our internet goes out there goes the story. Sure, it’d be easy to pull up my computer or something and type away into another document NOT using the internet, but that could also pose a problem itself.

Wedding plans are kind of coming along. The whole Lord help us thing is because we have my dress ordered and it’s going to get here like a month and a half before the wedding and while we have our officiant booked we haven’t sat down with him and figured out the vows and everything. We haven’t talked to ANYONE about a cake or cupcakes yet though we know who we would like to have do it and I’m going to make that a Catfish job for this weekend because I’ve got a lot of plans and he only has a few and since I’m going to be working while he has several days off I’m going to put him to work. Bwahaha! If I’m left in charge of everything else he’s going to get a chore list. >:)

We have a few other things in the works. We know about the main food thanks to my parents help, and his parents are working are booking the venue because his mother kept asking me a lot about what she could do because she wanted to help out and bless her for asking me so much because it finally made me cave or else I don’t know where we might be having this thing. XD

I’m focusing more on the fact that my uncle from halfway across the country is going to be back home for the first time in like 10+ years and NOT for a freaking funeral this time.

I DID, however, have a breakdown Monday night because I saw a sock that Catfish has that my grandma had a pair just like and that reminded me of the discussion of Bridal Showers that Catfish’s mom and I had and how neither of my grandmothers is around and I’m jealous of my cousin who got to have my grandma at her wedding and how there was a major inside joke and how I’ll never get to have that. Yeah, I cried over that.

There are a lot of things I wish my grandmothers were still around for. I wish my mom’s mom got to see me grow up. I wish my dad’s mom was still around because there are times I’d like to ask her for guidance on different things and she was a librarian so I’d love to discuss things with her and get her insight and see how thing have changed and what changes we could be making today that they couldn’t back then and so on. I’d love to sit down and talk with her about the things I do at work and hear about what it was like for her back then and listen to what all she used to do. Gods do I ever wish she’d kept a diary of some sort so I could read it. Even now, 5 years after her death, I can still hear her voice plain as day and that kills me a little inside.

WOW that got a lot darker than I thought it was going to. A lot darker than I meant for it to. Sorry guys. My mood is all over the place. I’m really nervous and excited about something that’s going to be happening Saturday. I’ll be attending something for work and I’m really excited because I enjoy hanging out with a number of the people who are going to be on the trip. I’m kind of sad because someone from the local library to me isn’t going and I’d love if she was but she probably has other obligations and such.

I might practice blogging from my phone for a while, so we’ll see how that goes and get used to writing on my phone. If that doesn’t work I might try using a tablet setup of some sort, but for now, phone is the way I’m going to be going. Maybe before Camp NaNo I can look into things with Google Docs/Drive and see what I can find out on the wordcount front. If you know anything about Google Docs/Drive feel free to drop me a message or comment. I’d love to discuss things with you. I’d love for any outside communication from people because I swear the only people I talk to now are through work or Catfish or family. O.o My life is getting weirder and weirder and my stories might start exploring how to meet people.

For shits and giggles I wrote this whole post within half an hour and while wearing a Catfish hat because it was nearby and I’m writing while he’s in the shower. It feels so good to just sit and type away on the keyboard now. I absolutely love it. We got a new computer to replace one of the ones at the desk at work and one of our other ones is getting replaced this week and I’m excited about that, but it also makes me want to NOT type up there as much but at the same time it makes me ONLY want to sit there and practice typing at those computers because I need to get used to those keyboards and I hate feeling like I can’t type well because that inhibits my job and how well I can help our users.

It always comes down to how well I feel I can help people.

Peace for now everyone.

What are you working on right now? What do you hope to be working on later this year?

~Shavor

Leave a Reply

